Showing posts with label delete. Show all posts
Showing posts with label delete. Show all posts

Friday, July 20, 2012

Syria Deleted Itself from the Internet Today

Media_httpimggawkeras_ejibf

For 40 minutes this afternoon, Syria didn't exist on the Internet—its (currently) ruling government completely unplugged itself. All's fair in war and more war.

Although 40 minutes isn't so long, it had serious effects, explains Internet monitoring firm Renesys:

For about 40 minutes today, all networks routed through the Syrian incumbent, Syrian Telecommunications Establishment (AS29256 and AS29386), were withdrawn from the global routing table, effectively cutting off most of Syria from the Internet.

Posted via email from Inspiration

Thursday, November 3, 2011

Facebook accused of tracking users even after they delete accounts

Media_httpcdn2digital_splrs

Yet again, Facebook finds itself accused of installing cookies to follow its users - even after they've cut their ties with the social network.

Facebook recently came under fire for allegedly tracking users’ browser activity after they had logged out of the site. The accusation was enough to prompt privacy advocates to call for an investigation of the company, which for its part insists the actions were solely to identify users and not to actually spy on them. Futhermore, Facebook said it will no longer use cookies to keep user identification.

Posted via email from Inspiration

Friday, October 21, 2011

Facebook Doesn't Delete Anything

Media_httpstatic7busi_vneta

Austrian law student Max Schrems asked Facebook for a copy of all the data it had on him.

He received a CD of 1,200 pages of information, some of it consisting of items he had "deleted" from the site, reports The Guardian.

He created a list of 22 specific incidents where Facebook held on to data he had deleted and filed it with the Irish data protection commissioner as it handles its first-ever audit of Facebook next week.

Posted via email from Inspiration

Thursday, October 6, 2011

How To Permanently Delete a Facebook Account

Media_httponlinewsjco_kqtsu

Facebook doesn’t make it quick or easy. The default choice is to “deactivate” your account, which allows you to change your mind and reactivate, and thus spare the company the loss of a member. Deactivated accounts can’t be seen by others, but all their data remain on Facebook’s servers. You can totally and permanently delete an account, but this isn’t a simple process. You have submit a request, at http://on.fb.me/n5OemK, or go to the Facebook help center and search for “delete account.” Then you have to wait awhile, while Facebook hopes you change your mind. More information on both options is at: http://on.fb.me/pxjtS2.>

Posted via email from Inspiration